Expungement

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

 

 expunge

 Expungement

  • The Utah Expungement Act governs how to expunge records of an arrest or conviction in Utah.
  • Expunging a record means that the court orders the records of arrest, investigation, detention and conviction in the criminal case sealed.
  • Sealing a record means that the public cannot view or copy the record.

How to get an Expungement

  1. First, obtain a certificate of eligibility from the Utah Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI). 

    BCI   Website:http://bci.utah.gov/expungements/

    Location: 3888 W 5400 S Taylorsville, UT 84129.                                 Phone:  801 965-4445

     

  2. Bring to Midvale Justice Court the original certificate of eligibility issued by BCI within 90 days from the date it was issued. You must also complete the applicable packet to the disposition of your case. For packets click here. 

Expungement Fees

Expungement Petition Filing Fee

$135.00

Certified Copy for Expungement

Varies by case

 

When is Expungement Allowed?

Any alcohol related traffic offenses

10 years from closing date

Class B Misdemeanor Conviction

4 years from closing date

Class C Misdemeanors and Infraction convictions

3 years from closing date

Arrests without filing charges

30 days from arrest

Proceedings commenced & dismissed

30 days from closing date

Acquittals

30 days from closing date

 

Signed Expungement Order

You are responsible for service of the signed order to various agencies. You will receive 5 copies of the signed order to distribute to the agencies.